Home > Jim > Eating more fresh foods

Eating more fresh foods

Jim:  Jim is being very patient with my new juices and meals.  He discovered a new place, Mel’s Meals, to get his lunches.  He said they taste good and there are more vegetarian options than My Fit Foods. 

Beckie:  I feel like I’m cramming for finals again.  However, this time I get to eat or drink my work, and usually it’s pretty darn good.  Jim and I really like strawberry orange juice.  (One cup of stawberries has 4 times the vitamin C that one orange contains.)  My first time juicing a beet was a disaster.  I accidentally hit the container and suddenly it looked like I cut my arm off in the kitchen; I’m still finding little red dots…  My carrot, kale, beet and apple juice concoction is pretty good and we get a small afternoon bump in our energy level.  (Carrots, kale and beets have anti-cancer properties and beets have the added bonus of making the liver happy.  The apple is pretty much for the sweetness.) 

It is soooo much easier to drink your veggies.  We should be getting our new single-gear juicer this week.  It slowly squeezes out the juice, rather than shattering and spinning out the juice like our current juicer.  If anyone else is a juicer out there, I welcome recipes or juicing hints.  I’ve been doing it for a few years, but there always seems to be something else to learn.

Cross your fingers for Jim tonight.  I’m turning zucchini into sphagetti strands, so we can have “pasta.”

Sarah:  We learned she falls well.  She had a slow-motion fall down the last two steps to the backyard.  I’m afraid she was looking at what I was doing at the bottom of the stairs.  She was ticked-off that she fell, but didn’t notice the small scratch on her face or a few knuckles.  Until later, when she pointed at her hand and said, “boo-boo.”

Here’s another Sarah sound-bite.  go-go-go  Think she wants to go somewhere?  😉

  1. Jayne Field
    March 30, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    I always look forward to the notification that you have posted about the “Morris Family Happenings”. I am amazed at all the different ways you have found to get vegetables into the body. I think chemist/chef/inventor would be a good description of you, Beckie! I have never juiced anything so this is all new to me…who knew all the wonderful ways of juicing and how to extract it. So glad Jim has found a place to get the vegan foods. The Austin area would be the place to have a choice of this I would think..a very health attuned city. There is no way Jim’s counts won’t get up there with all this attention to just the right foods.
    And our Miss Sarah is a 21st century “go-go” girl. I loved hearing her sweet little voice and could imagine the action behind it. I know she is the joy of your lives. And I loved the picture of Jim and Sarah on the porch. I have talked to Helen a couple of times when she was on the swing on the porch. It is just as I had it pictured in my mind.
    Thanks for keeping us up to the minute on how things are going.
    Love to all, Jayne

  2. Monica
    June 5, 2011 at 1:40 am

    Have you thought about writing a food blog, Beckie? I’m fascinated by what you’ve learned about what certain foods can do for your body.

    • June 7, 2011 at 12:08 pm

      Yes, I have thought of creating a LWCAAT food blog. And you may have pushed me over the edge into doing it. 😉 I would love to rant about food much more than I am able to do in this forum.

      Am I right that you had your pancreas removed? Could you tell me why, and did you alter your eating habits? Jim’s pancreas is enlarged, but we don’t know if it was that way before the cancer or not. It is possible that when his liver was full of little tumors, it could have made the pancreas overreact. Also, his blood was really damaged by chemo, so the pancreas could be working overtime to clean his blood. As you can tell, I remotely understand the pancreas now. It’s a rather important organ to remove…

      Sorry about not resopnding back in December. You were so sweet to write, and what you said was really nice too. I was just so incredibly emotionally fried by that point, I couldn’t write back.

      Jim liked what you just wrote to him too. Thanks.

      With love, Beckie

  3. Monica
    June 8, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    I had my spleen removed, but I think it’s close to the pancreas! It was because of the lupus, but I’ve recently discovered that I have a sensitivity to gluten which can go hand in hand with lupus. I’m not sure if it’s full-blown celiac disease, but I’m eliminating gluten just to be safe. Honestly, my interest in you writing a food blog is more out of my own selfish interest than I want to admit. 🙂

    And, oh my gosh, don’t worry about not writing back. You’ve had quite enough to deal with. I’m just beyond happy that things are looking so good. Jim is very blessed to have such an amazing wife. Give him a hug from me, and hugs to you too. I’m blessed

    Love,
    Monica

  4. June 8, 2011 at 4:09 pm

    I can’t believe we emailed each other at the same time! And, I’m such an idiot, it is his spleen. (I acquired an amazing virus from Sarah and my brain really isn’t working.) It’s called splenomegaly, where it’s enlarged.

    I hope it’s not full blown celiac disease. That’s tough to manage because of how the food industry is allowed to manipulate and lable their ingredients. I had a test done at my GP to see if I had celiac disease. Have you done that yet?

    With love,
    Beckie

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

