Home > Jim > 12 Months Later

12 Months Later

(Jim is writing today’s blog.)

I was diagnosed one year ago this morning.  Statistically, and as explained to me by doctors that morning, I should not be here today.

This morning I sat on the porch swing and watched the sunrise.  I enjoy watching the night fade away and the birds and other animals emerge with the daylight.  Silence of the night slipped away as dove cooed to welcome the day.  Cardinals were looking for breakfast under our mountain laurel and hummingbirds moved between the turks caps. 

Today is a good day.  I feel great, physically and emotionally.  As I look at the past year, I’m amazed at the help I received from Beckie, family, and friends.  I will always be indebted to them.  God has held my hand through this battle.  I have trust in Him.  He will help us as we explore a surgical option.

Today is a good day.  I walk with my head held high.  We have accomplished so many things in the past year.

Jim

Categories: Jim
  1. Anne
    June 4, 2011 at 1:15 pm

    today is a great day! What a year it has been, and there is no greater blessing than having you here to enjoy it. We love you, Beckie and precious baby Sarah so much.

  2. Jayne Field
    June 4, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    I celebrate this fine and wonderful day with you Jim. It is indeed a great day. You and Beckie and your beloved family have come together this last year to support your iron will and determination. God has faithfully held you and yours in his embrace of strength, courage, faith and love. I marvel at this wonderful miracle. A miracle of action and reaction. Your medical support team, your beloved family and your host of friends who love you are singing hallelujah. I continue to pray for you and your family as this journey continues. Know that I care!
    Praise God from whom all blessings flow.
    Jayne

  3. Monica
    June 5, 2011 at 1:48 am

    Jim, I’m so happy to hear how well you’re doing. I remember hearing from Beckie about your diagnosis and wishing that we weren’t separated by so many miles. I asked several people to add you to their prayer groups that day. Your positivity, your wife’s care, your incredible doctors and the hand of God made this wonderful day possible. Much love to you and your family. I miss you all.

  4. Stephanie Head
    June 6, 2011 at 7:28 pm

    A grateful and fearless heart…you are a blessing to many. I celebrate another day of simple and abundant living with you Jimbo! You are da bomb!!!!!!!!! Go Jimbo Go…we continue to cheer you on!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

