Home > Jim > Jim is out of ICU and doing good

Jim is out of ICU and doing good

Days 4 & 5:  Yesterday, after Jim had one of his chest tubes pulled, we got the all clear to move out of ICU.  Unfortunately, Jim started to make odd sounds on his inhales once we got down there.  Turns out it was nothing, but we didn’t know that.  So, I tried to get our new nurse.  She was at lunch, so they send in a different RN.  He comes blowing in saying, “This isn’t my patient and I don’t know what’s wrong with him.  He’s breathing and not turning purple, so call when there’s a real problem.”  When he left, and Jim and I picked our jaws up off the floor, I went back up to ICU and got the wonderful nurse we had just left.  Fortunately, the next two nurses we got have been wonderful and obviously like their job.

Jim had an ok day, and we did a few “laps” in our area.  But, that night was bad.  His back was the biggest problem.  Why in the world do hospitals have uncomfortable beds?  It makes no sense.  Jim slept in 45 minute increments at the most, and the pain medicine (Lortab) he was getting gave him hot flashes and chills.  I noticed before I left, the daytime nurse seemed to be a little better at controlling Jim’s pain.  Helen told me he did manage to sleep a little today.  He didn’t get the nose tube pulled today because when the doctor came in and repositioned it, apparently it worked much better and they want it to remove more of the “gunk” (my word) that’s in his stomach.

Helen and I are now taking 24 hour shifts with Jim, so I couldn’t update until now.  But, I picked up my smartphone today.  Now I just have to figure out how to work it…

Beckie:  Today is Jim’s and my 14th anniversary.  Granted, one of the more sucky ones.  But, I am out-of-my-mind thankful we are having an anniversary to celebrate.

Sarah:  She’s gotten a little bit more huggy, and her looks are a little more piercing.  She’s trying to figure out what’s going on.  I’m just telling her, “Daddy is in the hospital.  He really misses you, and will see you as soon as he can.”  She seems to be ok with that, but she likes me to repeat it.  I think as of day 3, Jim has been talking to her on the phone.  Which creates a huge grin and the phone gets a big nose-bump.

  1. patti Smith
    July 20, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    Becky, you and Helen are amazing. I hope Jim is doing good. I pray for you all every day. I loved the pictures if Sarah. Take care and I will keep checking and praying! Love, Patti

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

