Home > Jim > Jim is back in ICU after emergency surgery

Jim is back in ICU after emergency surgery

Jim even had on his clothes to go home when the problem started.  Suddenly, Jim and his dad saw his white shirt was covered in blood, running down the front of him and onto the floor, from the tube draining his neck.  The nurse thought she had it under control when she had him lay down to redo the dressings.  Then, she proceeded to call the wrong number for the surgeon’s nurse.  He just happened by a little later (after I had arrived) because he was going to remove that drain and the rest of the staples. 

That’s when the big problem started.  At first, old dark blood came out with the drain, and then the floodgates opened.  The nurse could tell it was arterial flow.  We used 3 packets of fluffy gauze which instantly became a soaked mound on his chest.  I say “we” because I had put on a glove and grabbed some gauze because it was flowing down his side opposite the nurse.  It was so wet and warm and coming out of my husband.  Later, it bothered me more than I expected.  After 15 minutes of continuous pressure, it stopped.

They took him to ICU, and it started flowing again.  This time when they applied pressure, it caused the flow to back up into his neck and create a large hematoma.  It became hard and painful but it never obstructed his airway.  They had to do surgery to remove the blood, and try and find the problem artery.  Of course, Jim had another panic attack before surgery because he knew what was about to happen.  (I think this was the hardest thing to watch him go through today.  I was desparately trying to stay calm so that he might focus on me, meanwhile I’m watching him loose it and I completely understand why.)  They found a small bleeding artery by his thyroid, where they had removed his lymph node, and cauterized it.  The surgeon seemed doubtful as to this being the actual cause of the flow.  So, Jim is on a ton of monitors and very sedated.  An x-ray showed a partially collapsed lung. They did a bronchoscopy, but didn’t find anything in his lung, so they just increased the pressure to inflate his lungs a little more.  He has received three units of blood.  They may do a CT scan tomorrow.

Jim will be in ICU for a few days.  His mom is with him tonight, as they start cutting back on the pain medication, and I’ll get there tomorrow morning after I put Sarah in daycare.

Categories: Jim
  1. Monica
    July 18, 2011 at 12:49 am

    I’m so sorry he didn’t get to come home, but thank goodness he was still in the hospital. You all are in my prayers.

  2. Catherine Mitchell-Baker
    July 18, 2011 at 8:34 am

    HI Beckie ! Man yesterday seemed like the longest day of my life ! Every time the phone rang my heart dropped to the pit of my stomach! I felt so totally helpless !!! All I could do was pray and I did that ALOT ! This seems almost like a nightmare to me as I just saw him day before yesterday and he looked so good ! I hope all goes well today ! I too am glad that he was still in the hospital instead of on the way home or at home when it happened ! Daddy is keeping me informed ! I have already sent up several prayers for Jim AND for the 3 of you this morning ! You guys take care of yourselves too ! We love you all very much!

  3. Scott and Jensey Humphries
    July 18, 2011 at 9:56 am

    I’m so sorry….praying hard that things will improve and go well for y’all…

  4. Patti Tobolka
    July 18, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    I am also sorry that you were not able to come home today and thankful that you were still at the
    hospital. Lots and lots of prayers.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

