Home > Jim > We did it once, we can do it again

We did it once, we can do it again

We did an MRI yesterday thinking Jim’s severe back pain was caused by a pinched nerve from a combination of hospital beds and his newly discovered spina bifida occulta.  Unfortunately, we were very wrong, he has cancer again.  It’s almost scarier than the original diagnosis because of the location.  It’s in his spinal column.  As the tumors grow, they are pressing against his spinal cord causing the pain in his back and probably his migraines.  He also has lymph nodes in the immediate area that have cancer too.  The plan is to see the radiologist tomorrow, and to start treatments next week.  (He’d better have really good aim…)  It should last 5-10 days, then it’s immediately back to chemo.

Today, we saw the surgeon, Dr. Johnson.  First, he asked us to tell him what Dr. DeLeon said was on the MRI because he hadn’t seen it yet.  Jim explained it all to him.  Then, Dr. Johnson took a deep breath and said, “We’re still fighting this aren’t we?”  To which Jim and I both responded, “yes, heck yes, oh my gosh yes, and hell ya.”  He smiled and said, “Good.”  Then, he looked Jim over and said he was healing better than most at this point.  He made a point of commenting on how well Jim’s j-tube area looked.  We are to work on weaning Jim off the feeding tube during the next month.  If that works, then he will take out the tube in six weeks.

We are ok.  Of course, I cratered a few times yesterday.  I think I’m tired of Jim’s life and welfare being threatened.  And as Jim put it, “I was hoping the tape from the surgery would be gone, at least, before it came back.”  But, Jim and I were both surprised that this didn’t hit us as hard as the original diagnosis.  I’m guessing: We’ve already thought the worst thoughts.  We’ve met the doctors and nurses – and like them.  We dotted our i’s and crossed our t’s, legally and financially.  We know what to expect from chemo.  Radiation is the unknown this time around, but if it stops Jim’s pain, we’re eager to start.  We knew it could possibly come back – and that we will beat it again.

Categories: Jim
  1. Judi
    August 4, 2011 at 10:42 pm

    So sorry, Beckie.

  2. Monica
    August 4, 2011 at 11:08 pm

    Excuse my language, but DAMN RIGHT you will beat it again. I honestly don’t know how you do it, but you’re both amazing, inspirational people. Beckie, I’m consistently astounded at the strength you have to keep going and being your husband’s helpmeet. I can’t think of a truer definition. Jim, I’m amazed at the spirit you have and the humor you maintain facing this. I love you both and I’ve informed my friends that they don’t get to take you off their prayer lists just yet.

  3. Catherine Mitchell-Baker
    August 5, 2011 at 7:12 am

    Big HUgs to you both ! You two are my pilars of strength! I have you guys on my prayer chain list and Prayers are already going up from all over ! Ya’ll amaze me you really do ! What inspiration! Hope to be able to come back down and see you soon ! Love you guys and Sarah bunches !

  4. jayne field
    August 5, 2011 at 4:19 pm

    Well, this is the Morris spirit, determination and courage. This is, of course, not the news anyone wanted to hear. But true to the form of you and your doctors, a plan is in place and the steel will moves us all forward. Your words of optimism which have certainly been a constant in this journey have lifted my spirits. I respect, admire and join you in hope, prayer and support as this battle continues. I am holding you close.
    Jayne

  5. Carolyn Reeder
    August 7, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    Hi Beckie,

    I’ve been keeping up with your blog through TRS. My name is Carolyn Reeder and I retired from TRS in January of this year. I met you at the baby shower.

    I just wanted you to know that Dr. Chyle performed Kenneth’s radiation on his esophagus in 2006 when he was diagnosed with Esophageal cancer. We liked him a lot and were very impressed with his knowledge and intelligence in addition to his likeable personality. In Kenneth’s case they actually did the radiation first and then the surgery. Jim is definitely in good hands with Dr. Chyle. We hated to see him move to Kerrville and Kenneth missed him on his last round of radiation for cancer in his pelvic area. This was his third bout with cancer since 2006 and we think he has beat this one too. So it can be done…..

    Beckie, my heart goes out to all of you. I know this is a very difficult time… and having a sweet little toddler to care for too. I really admire both of your attitudes and strength. Attitude is half the battle and of course you appear to have a very strong family and friends support system which also helps tremendously. You all are in my prayers daily. I thought about Jim a lot in church this morning and prayed that the Lord would grant him complete recovery. I also put him on a prayer list. I do beleive in miracles and the power of prayer.

    If you woudl like to talk sometime you can call me at 512-922-5951 (cell) or 512-251-4672 (home phone). Give my best to Jim.

    God Bless all of you!!!

    Love,
    Carolyn

  6. Ranu Dutta
    August 16, 2011 at 11:26 am

    Hi Beckie,
    Hope you remember me. I worked with Jim for a while before he moved to the main bldg. So sorry to heat the news again. I am sure with both of your strength and courage you will beat it again. I know what you are going through. I had breast cancer in 1996 and survived it. Jim can too.
    We will keep him in our prayers.
    Ranu

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

