Home > Jim > Never take your hair for granted either

Never take your hair for granted either

Jim has started really loosing his hair this time.  (I cannot imagine how awful and scary this would be for a child or teenager.)  Last time he did chemo, he would lose some hair a day or two after his infusion.  This time it’s coming out in large amounts, and it’s been 2.5 weeks since his infusion.  I’ve taken to using a lint roller around the house a lot lately…

Incidentally, I’m growing my hair out to donate to Locks of Love.  I decided to do that after Jim’s first chemo treatment when I saw several women with scarves on their heads.  At the time, I didn’t realize Locks of Love was just for children.  I’ve always been a hair factory, so I’ll probably be growing my hair out to donate from now on.  Yes, I’ll admit it for the express purpose of encouraging others to grow out their hair, I do have gray hairs.  But, some poor soul separates those hairs from the natural color, and then they sell the gray to make money.  So, any untreated hair and any color will work.  I’m an inch or two away from the length I want to donate, so I’ll show you the before and after pictures later.

Jim is pretty happy he finished the round of 6 Xeloda pills/day last night.  Jim’s feet are starting to tingle, but so far no cracking/peeling/nails-falling-off full-blown hand-foot syndrome.   (Yea!)  He is still getting headaches, but we have found it to be very food related – as in needing food NOW.  We are still working out what he can eat, so he can maybe gain a little weight back too.  Because of Labor Day, Jim will have his infusion on Tuesday. 

Our “Little Bear” had fun wearing her cheerleading outfit this weekend.  Sic’em Bears!

  1. Catherine Mitchell-Baker
    September 5, 2011 at 9:00 am

    Hi Beckie & Jim ! Good for you on donating your hair! I donated 16″ of mine right after Jim was diagnosed!! Seems like it has been 10 years ago but really I guess my hair is growing back faster than I had realized cause it is only 4 inches shy from me being able to donate it again which I plan on doing ! I figure by my birthday it will be time! Guys are lucky when it comes to losing their hair cause so many of them shave their heads just because anyway …lol… like big Jerry ! Sorry we didn’t get down to see ya’ll while he was home ! The hurricane took him away from us before we got the chance to ! He is now in NJ just a stones throw from NYC! His hotel is at the NJ entrance to the Lincoln Tunnel!! and he’s only 4 blocks from Laguardia airport ! …LOL… anyway… I am keeping ya’ll in my thoughts and prayers DAILY actually several times a day ! Hope all continues to go well ! Love ya’ll !

  2. September 5, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    Thanks Catherine. Jerry sounds like a busy guy. Hope he’s bringing you back some goodies from all these places.

    Girls like us whose hair grows like fertilized weeds, make donating it probably easier for us than most others. Do you think it’s the amount or quality of our food? I know it’s not the sun, it’s too darn hot out there! 😉

  3. George Ibarra
    September 5, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    Hi Jim and Becky,
    This could be the year of the Bears!. Let me know when you are taking in visitors. Thanks for the post I will keep the positive thoughts and prayers going. Jim you are an inspiration to me.
    God Bless you all.

    • September 7, 2011 at 4:20 pm

      George,
      Thank you for your comment and prayers, Jim really appreciated it. When Jim has a window of feeling-good-time, I’ll definately let you know. He really misses working and his co-workers.

  4. jayne field
    September 6, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    And I have just found these last two posts. Have been out of town. The draining effects of chemo must be incredible. And your title did give me pause to think that I do take getting dressed for granted and so many other things. This new hair loss must be an adjustment. And that lint remover was a very good idea. Am hoping Jim’s headaches can be managed. As always you are so attentive to any little thing that can help. And the new menu..a definite change of pace. Hoping the cracking and peeling will be minimal.
    I love that you are going to participate in the Locks of Love program. A very good friend of my from high school, who is a breast cancer survivor, cut her very long hair after it grew back after chemo to donate to the program. I had wondered what they did with the gray hair. And our Baylor Bear cheerleader looked adorable. I agree…sic’em bears! And we did, didn’t we!!

    • September 7, 2011 at 4:31 pm

      Thank you for your comment, and taking the time to reply to so many. It’s always like having a nice conversation with you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

