Home > Beckie > Yes, I am still thankful, but…

Yes, I am still thankful, but…

To be honest, I’m not feeling real thankful right now.  You understand I’m sure.  But, I want to acknowledge the wonderful people and things that did happen this year.

  • Jim did go into remission.  He was able to be “normal” for a little while, which was a blessing.
  • We watched as little Sarah lost her baby “wrist wrinkles” while turning into a sweet, tall toddler.
  • Jim and I relearned to hold hands and mean it.
  • We met some truly amazing people, both in and out of the cancer community.
  • We were humbled by the amount of love and support provided by our friends and family.
  • I learned what I could handle.  It was a lot, and I didn’t always handle it well, but I did it.
  • I came to realize just how strong and loving Jim was.  What he did for us is amazing.
  • I am so glad God was with us the whole time.
  • And I’ll thank you, the reader, for your continued interest in my posts.

No doubt I’m forgetting something, and I’ll remember it as soon as I post this, as always happens… 

Sarah and I will be on our church’s float in the Light’s Spectacular night parade in Johnson City on Saturday.  Sarah will be an angel (hopefully) and I will be an angel wrangler.  I hope this isn’t like cat wrangling.

Sarah wasn't sure what to think of the floats at her first Lights Spectacular night parade.

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday with your family and friends.

  1. Jayne Field
    November 22, 2011 at 7:36 am

    Dearest Beckie,
    I have been thinking about you a lot as this season of thanksgiving is upon us.
    Of course, this season is with thru out the year. I am grateful for you, for your ability to pull your thoughts together and share them so honestly with those who love you and your family. Even in times of deep, unrelenting sorrow acknowledging the many things in our lives that are good is important. This last year has brought so many unthinkable situations to face and yet there have been the wonderful blessings that you have recognized.
    As this journey continues for you and for those of us who love you, I have kept the precious picture from last year on my bulletin board. It is a constant reminder of each of you. Of life changes, of Sarah growing up from baby to toddler, of Jim’s incredible will, strength, determination and love of family, the journey of the entire Morris family.
    I have a delightful image of you and Sarah on the float..angel and angel wrangler..what a pair! Know that I am sending my love to each of you.
    Blessings, Jayne

    • November 22, 2011 at 7:50 am

      Jayne, Thank you for your continued understanding and support. I’m trying to rearrage my thinking, but it’s like making an aircraft carrier pull a u-turn, so slow. A friend of ours brought that picture, framed, to Jim while he was in the hospital. Then, he put it on his nightstand. He loved it too.

      Love, Beckie

  2. Betty McNallen
    November 22, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    Everytime you state your thanksgivings, you often find more things to be thankful for.
    I am thankful for your honest postings that remind me to have a grateful heart no matter
    what comes my way. I look forward to seeing Sarah as an angel…no stretch for me there…she is a darling.

    • November 22, 2011 at 2:35 pm

      Betty, Thank you. I guess it’s like finding shells on a beach (or fossils in a quarry). Standing you easily pick out the big, easy ones. But, while sitting you can see many more little ones. I guess I’m just hoping I’m not sitting on any important little ones. I hope you have recorded books in the past. I could really hear your voice in what you wrote…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

