Home > Beckie, Complaining > Bah Humbug: I don’t like buying Christmas cards anymore

Bah Humbug: I don’t like buying Christmas cards anymore

Wow.  That was hard.  I’m not sure if I can do that again.

It was not only that I could not buy a “husband” card, but I also realized I could not buy a “from us” card for anyone.  I knew, of course, I would not get a “wife” card, but seeing all those cards was tough.  And picking out Sarah’s card was super tough.  Usually, Jim and I each would buy her a card, and his was the mushier one.  No more daddy-to-daughter cards.  Now it’s just me.  And I couldn’t pick out Sarah’s daughter-to-daddy card.

This was just one more usually normal thing that showed me (felt like a slam) how different life is now.  Ever since college,  I have loved buying Jim cards.  For me, the more words the better which he teased me about.  His card finding technique was to find the stack with the least cards because that meant it was a popular card.  🙂

They say this year of firsts is hard.  Im beginning to understand why.  Not only is the act or non-act of doing something hard, but the feelings that go with it take you by surprise the first time.

  1. Betty McNallen
    December 6, 2011 at 8:47 am

    I remember the Mothers’ Day after mom died. I walked into the pharmacy to pick up a prescription for one of the girls and – wham – was hit in the gut by the Mothers’ Day card display.I was a single mom at the time having just experienced a divorce the year before and it really got me. I had realized that I could marry again and no longer be single, but I could not fill the part of my life left vacant by the death of my mom. Talk about reality check.

  2. December 6, 2011 at 9:19 am

    Betty,
    You definately had that same feeling, the same way. Not a good reality check. I was just sick. Birthday cards are ok, but I’m not sure if I can do holiday cards this year.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

