Home > Beckie > I can finally write thank you notes

I can finally write thank you notes

One can pay back the loan of gold, but one dies forever in debt to those who are kind.”  ~Malayan Proverb

Wow.  I exploded yesterday.  I finally could write thank you’s without crying (too much).  I just couldn’t do it before now.  I have had it organized for a while, so no one should fall through the cracks.  I am sorry to those who expected a faster turn-around.  It still will take a while because I have so very many people to thank.  But, I can finally write!

Etiquette-wise many websites I found say thank you’s should be sent out within three months after a funeral.  Well, I blew it for most of the notes.  But, do those “rules” really apply to someone with a toddler and everything happening at holiday-time?  Fortunately, one of my best friends said, “Surely, you have a year.”  That made me feel better.

Here’s a FYI for those of you dealing with funeral homes in the future.  Don’t buy their stationary.  There are several websites out there who can create quality thank you notes in regards to someone passing.  Or, if you don’t like the internet, buy the bulk “Thank You” Hallmark cards at HEB.  I like Vistaprint.com because they have very flexible formats, so I can design my own personal cards.

Sarah:  Boy, does she like Christmas lights.  We drove around a few blocks that had good lights at my parent’s house this weekend.  Well, when it was time to drive home, Sarah kept saying, “No, back” and “bright, pretty.”

  1. Jayne Field
    December 12, 2011 at 10:38 pm

    Ah…Beckie. Is that not what friendship is all about. Being forever tied to one another thru a bond of friendship, loyalty, kindness, love. I have never read that proverb. I like it. Thank you for sharing.
    And I think etiquette in the time of loss is just like the way one grieves. We each have our own time frame. Anyone who has experienced loss knows the journey is her own. One must navigate it the best she can. You are right on track for YOU.
    You have been so free in sharing the day to day experiences of your life. The firsts of everything you must address. And all those other firsts that “slam you as you said” that you hadn’t expected. Emotions in turmoil.
    Take it each moment at a time. Do what you can and don’t worry. We all love you, support you.
    And precious Sarah. To feel her glee in the enjoyment of the season must soften the sharp edges of your healing heart.
    Know that you each remain in my prayers on this journey.
    Love,
    Jayne

  2. Jayne Field
    December 12, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    Two other thoughts….
    I love the picture of Jim and Sarah you posted. That is pure glee. The love of a father, the joy of a child. A perfect combination!
    And I love the snowflakes falling on the blog. So peaceful.
    Jayne

  3. Betty McNallen
    December 13, 2011 at 11:23 am

    I lost my mom at Christmas time. It was tough on all, especially my dad. The joyful innocence of my little girls helped to keep me going. They knew Grandma was gone and that made them sad, but they were children with the delightfully short attention spans that children have.

    Each moment is a gift. Each distraction another type of gift. Chronos is the Greek name for the human concept of time (as in chromological). God’s time is much more expansive and flexible. No one expects you to be a thank-you note machine. Many don’t even expect you to write at all. They sent you their love for you and for Jim as best they could…in food and flowers and memorials. Be kind to yourself. You deserve it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

