Home > Beckie, Inspirational > How lucky to be given Jim’s love

How lucky to be given Jim’s love

From the moment I met Jim, I knew he was different and I knew I was lucky.  I still have the shirt he was wearing the first time I saw him (at left).  He was so nice, incredibly polite, he had such a quiet confidence and he had no idea about the usual “rules of the dating game.”  I didn’t know they made guys like this.  Later, I would be amazed by other parts of his personality.  If you were lucky enough to be his friend, then you know what I mean.  His loyalty was stunning.  Everybody who knew Jim liked him. 

Jim’s love for his family surprised me too.  He would say that his family might be crazy, but they would always be there for each other.  He spoke with such respect for his grandparents.  They each left an impression on him that he seemed to want to live up to – in a good way.  He had so many aunts and uncles, and still he loved and respected each one.  I was unused to a young man admiring his parents the way Jim did.  He was always impressed with how hard his father worked, and loved the free-time they had together.  After seeing Jim with his mom the first time, on Parent’s Weekend, I knew right then he knew how to love and respect a woman.  Being an only-child, I can’t claim to understand love between siblings.  So, Jim’s older brother love for Justin always impressed me.  He might have worried about Justin, but in 19 years, I never heard him say one critical thing about him.  And Jim’s love for Sarah was such a sweet and precious love.

I loved watching him meet new people.  They would usually assume he was shy, or maybe even aloof.  And sometimes, to their loss, they never lost that impression.  (snicker)  That wasn’t it.  He was watching them.  (I got Jim to fall in love with New Orleans through the food, and all the wonderful people watching.)  He was the only guy who could surprise me with what he would say – which kept me on my toes for 19 years.  Jim’s was a super-dry and sarcastic humor.  He didn’t use it to slice-and-dice you like he probably could have, but rather he was saying, “Hey, look at the world this other way.”

Our very first Valentine’s Day, he gave me my watch (that I’m wearing right now) a week early.  He absolutely couldn’t hold onto it any longer.  It was so funny.  So, was our fourth Valentine’s Day.  After classes, Jim came to pick me up so we could go to Salado for dinner.  He had already sent half a dozen roses to me, and he walked in with a small box.  Earrings.  Nice James Avery earrings, but I was expecting something a little more “sparkly.”  I was not happy on our way to dinner.  I remember looking out the window and thinking on the drive to Salado, “Well, I’m glad he’s talkative,” because he was just chatting away.  Turns out he was a little nervous.  Knowing how much I like springs, he proposed to me by Salado Springs. 

One of the more painful results of Jim’s cancer diagnosis and fight to save him was that we became so much closer through the process.  It would have been so nice to have lived with that deeper love just a little longer.  However, I will always know how lucky I was to have ever had his love at all.

  1. Catherine Mitchell-Baker
    February 14, 2012 at 9:11 am

    This Aunt Loves you and Sarah very much & Thanks God and Ji DAILY for bringing you two into our lives ! Happy Valentines Ladies !!!!!!!!!

    • February 14, 2012 at 1:40 pm

      Thank you. I’m quite happy to have had the wonderful luck to join both the Morris and Head families. I’m wishing you a very good Valentine’s Day too.

  2. Greg
    February 14, 2012 at 9:40 am

    Beckie, what a wonderful Valentine’s Day post! Hard to get through it with dry eyes. I loved seeing the old Flash picture because that is how I remember him. Your descriptions of Jim are so accurate; you truly knew him like no other. I loved spending time with his family as a child and visiting his grandparents while at Baylor. We pray that both God’s and Jim’s love surrounds you and Sarah today.

    • February 14, 2012 at 2:06 pm

      I wasn’t able to write that with dry eyes either. Seeing old pictures of Jim always makes me feel better. I’m trying to do that for everyone else too. You were one of the friends I specifically thought of when I mentioned old friendships. I’m a little jealous you got to know Jim as a child. 😉 From the stories I’ve heard, I know he was fun!

      Thank you for your kind prayer.

  3. Sue Cowan
    February 14, 2012 at 10:43 pm

    Beckie, Your writings always leave me with a warm and touched heart for you and Sarah.
    We loved Jim and we feel love for you and Sarah by getting to know you through your blogs.
    We know that God will bless the two of you and pray that you feel His presence each day as you go through the daily grind of life. I hope that we are able to meet you and Sarah sometime when you are in Lubbock. Jim’s family is special to us and I know that they will always love you and Sarah.

    • February 15, 2012 at 8:29 pm

      Jim was an easy person to love. Thank you for offering your love to Sarah and me, it feels like a big hug. I try to keep myself open to feel God’s presence. When I close myself off, and turn too far inward, that’s when it’s cold and dark.

      I would really enjoy seeing you too. We try go to Lubbock every other month. With everything we’ve been through together, I know the Morris’ and I will always love each other.

      I always enjoy your comments. Thank you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

