Home > Beckie, Bragging on Sarah, Inspirational > “Someone was watching over you”

“Someone was watching over you”

On Saturday, I took my engagement ring to Throckmorton’s, a wonderful jewelry store and repair shop in southwest Austin.  The jeweler, David, was able to repair my crushed ring right then as my mom and I spoke with his wife, Tracey.  (Dad and Sarah were playing outside.)  Minutes later he brought it back to me looking brand-new.  Even the rough spot, where the ring hit the concrete, was smooth again.  That’s when Tracey looked at me and said, “Someone was watching over you.”  I just smiled and nodded my head.  I couldn’t tell her just how right she was. 

Actually, I think I had some extra help on both Wednesday and Friday. 

While driving home from Lubbock, I avoided hitting a dog.  Unfortunately, I did not avoid hitting a reflector pole.  It dented both my right wheels and completely removed my side mirror.  I was nine miles west of Mason.  No cell phone service.  I saw a truck starting to pull out of his driveway, so I limped the car over to him and asked Sarah to work with me because I just “boo-booed” the car.  Dwain let me use his cell phone to call Allstate for a tow-truck.  To paraphrase, they eventually told me, “We can’t find anything, but if you can, we’ll reimburse you.”  Thanks.  So, Dwain kindly offered to take me to town, and that’s when I told him I had a 2-year-old in the car too.  Then, he called his wife, Ouida, back at the house to let her know the situation and we were coming to her for help now.  (Sarah rose to the occasion, and very nicely stayed and played with Ouida and Chunky, the miniature daschund, while I ran back and forth to the car.)  Turns out her neighbor owns a little place called Dipsticks in Mason.  He sent a gentleman with a huge sledgehammer to bang the least dented wheel back into a useable condition.  It worked.  We got home.  And now we have friends in Mason.

On Friday, I decided to mow the rent house yard and my yard.  As I was mowing past the rent house’s storage shed, the mower suddenly jerked to a stop and turned off.  Thinking I was stuck on a rock again, I looked to where the grass comes out and saw some wire.  Dang.  I looked to the other side and saw the bundle of serious baling wire I was now tied to.  I got Jim’s wire cutters, but they couldn’t open under the mower.  I tried parking over a low spot but it wasn’t enough.  So, I called Paul Axtell and he came over with an ancient, mean-looking jack that is almost as tall as me.  He got the mower up high enough but it was still tough to cut the baling wire because he had to separate the three strands of wire to cut each one.  So, while he did that, I got on the other side to try and separate the strands on that blade.  Suddenly, but in slow-motion, the mower started to fall towards Paul.  I think I said something and tried to hold onto the mower.  As soon as it landed, I jumped up thinking, “Kris is going to kill me if I hurt her husband.”  He said the jack landing on his knee was the worst part for him.  I did ask him to please pull his arm out from under the mower so I could see it.  It was fine.  Then, I looked at my right hand.  The middle knuckle on my middle finger was bright blue and already swelling.  As I examined the scratches on my engagement ring, I noticed a little bit of blood.  I moved my ring up and saw it had barely cut into my finger and was starting to swell.  I quickly told Paul I was going inside to take it off.  As I was running into the house, he yelled, “Use soap!” behind me.  It came off pretty easily, but that’s when I saw how crushed it was.  (The jeweler said if it had been a normal engagement ring, the diamonds would have come out.  Jim never did trust me, so he set the diamonds down into the ring.  Smart guy. 🙂 )  When I went back outside, Paul asked the obvious question: why was I wearing my engagement ring?  I mumbled that humidity makes it hard to take off my rings (that and my Ehlers-Danlos).  However, even though I think that ring may have saved my fingers, I will take off all jewelry from now on. 

Jim should have turned 38 on Sunday.  Helen, Jim, Sarah and I laid wildflowers out on Jim’s grave, and Sarah and I sang “Happy Birthday” to him that night.  In my mind, he now starts to live in the world of the forever young.  He may not be here, with me, right now, but he is still near.  During our past, Jim protected my future, in so many ways.  I don’t know if Jim or God was responsible for all the help, but I am thankful to both.  So many things had to happen just the right way for everything to have turned out as well as it did. 

  1. Catherine Mitchell-Baker
    April 17, 2012 at 10:21 am

    We have SEVERAL Angels watching out for us now ! LOL God knows we all need them! Glad ya’ll made it home and are OK ! LOL Beeeeeeee Carefull honey ! We love you and need you in one piece!

    • April 17, 2012 at 10:50 am

      Yes, we do have many angels now. I promise to be careful. Last week was definately over the top!

  2. April 17, 2012 at 10:49 am

    …I have had several situations that I have no idea whatsoever how I made it through but a calmer me later on always conclude’s that my dad was looking out for me. I share your sentiment and I am with Tracey when she says, ‘SOMEONE WAS WATCHING ON YOU”…

    • April 17, 2012 at 10:56 am

      I agree. Have you ever heard of Godwinks? Basically, the idea is that there is no such thing as a coincidence, Someone else was involved. This past week really hit me over the head with the Godwinks.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

