Home > Beckie, Bragging on Sarah > Sarah had a very Happy Birthday

Sarah had a very Happy Birthday

Saturday was Sarah’s third birthday.  We had a much smaller party this year than last.  The house was still full of people, and (almost embarrassingly) presents.  Sarah sweetly opened her presents at first, but then picked up speed.  She was really cute after opening a present because she would hand it to me so I could open the package for her to play with it right then.  I kept telling her, “You can play with your presents after you open ALL of them.”  So far, she laughs the most at the log Helen gave her.  Hee-hee, let me explain.  It looks like a campfire log and has a “flame” that lights up and wiggles when you push a button.  While Sarah was first playing with it and laughing, it suddenly hit me how much Jim would have loved this log.  I said as much to Helen, and she had the same thought when she bought it.  I know it would have reminded him of Ren and Stimpy’s “Log by Blammo.”  You’ll want to click on that to hear a song Jim use to sing – seriously, he knew all the words.

It wasn’t until Sunday, after all the excitement and preparation, that I really felt Jim’s absence.  He just should have enjoyed what the rest of us enjoyed with Sarah.  Sigh.  I am trying to come up with traditions for Sarah.  I put that on hold for the past two years.  I did find a cute two-tiered cake with a butterfly on it.  The bakery at the Dripping Springs HEB jumped through a hoop or two to help me get that butterfly.  I think I’ll try to incorporate it into her birthday cakes in the future, at least until she gets tired of it.  Also, I’m going to always give her something I believe Jim would have given her, and say it’s from “Daddy.”  This year it was the “Horton Hears a Who” dvd.  He had already given her a stuffed Horton, and I knew it was his favorite Dr. Seuss.  When he was a kid he was worried about walking around after he read this book.  How cute is that?  (Of course I love the book for Horton’s famous line, “A person’s a person, no matter how small.“)  I also write an annual birthday letter to Sarah.  Are there any traditions that you like to use in your birthday celebrations?  I’m taking suggestions…

Happy Birthday, Sarah.  You are a seriously sweet, cute and smart three-year-old.  And, yes, I’m totally biased.

Sarah trying to hold her cousin Mason's hand. She was also nose-bumping him and feeding him her Chex.

  1. Catherine Mitchell-Baker
    April 24, 2012 at 7:45 pm

    Hi Beckie ! So sorry that we couldn’t be there for Miss Sarah’s Birthday this year ! Man I can’t believe she’s already 3 ! That just doesn’t seem possible !!! I need to get with you some time soon and talk about what Sarah still wants or needs that she didn’t already get ! LOL she still has a present from MamaB & Grandad commin & One from Me and the Jerry’s ! HOpefully we will be able to get down that way pretty soon ! LOL that is after we get the help with Mama B straightened out ! Love you ladies dearly !

  2. April 28, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    …hey stopped by to let you know you have been tagged on a post (http://behindmystunnas.wordpress.com/2012/04/28/i-got-pimped/)…

  3. Jayne Field
    May 8, 2012 at 7:02 pm

    Beckie,
    I loved hearing about Sarah’s birthday. Wanted to share a fun tradition that we did with our sons. I can’t even remember how it got started. I do think it was child initiated. I always had lots of helium balloons for their birthday parties. And at the end of the day, we would gather them up and take them outside and release them one by one into the air and watch and fantasize about where they would go. And now an interesting fast forward. This January my mother turned 90. And guess what…the house was filled with helium balloons. At the end of the evening, our sons now 33 and 35 gathered up the balloons, and we all went outside and released them into the cold night air. Each of us with our own private thoughts together.
    So food for thought!

  1. May 1, 2012 at 7:54 am

Leave a Reply

