Home > Beckie, Inspirational > Johnson City Does Yoga

Johnson City Does Yoga

“A photographer gets people to pose for him. A yoga instructor gets people to pose for themselves.”  –T. Guillemets

A few weeks ago, I got to talking yoga vs. martial arts with the martial arts instructor/gym owner after Sarah’s 1st dance lesson.  When I mentioned I had taught a few yoga classes in the past, he immediately said he had been looking for a yoga teacher for years, and asked if I would like to teach yoga at his gym.  Well, that was a surprise.  I’m pretty sure my jaw dropped open.  I instantly wanted to jump at it, but I knew I should think about it.  However, it didn’t take me long.  This is an amazing opportunity.  It will force me to do yoga on a regular basis which I know will help my body and my way of thinking.  Also, it will force me to be around people, which is something else I need.  And I have the chance to help others feel good.  Paying it forward…

A little over ten years ago, I started the Hatha Yoga teacher training program at Yoga Yoga (University) in Austin.  At the time, I wanted to know more about yoga than what you could get in a regular yoga class.  I completed well over 150 hours, of a 200-hour certification.  (Jim was incredibly supportive, although he wouldn’t let me practice my teaching on him.  He would let me try… but I think he just liked the yoga outfit.  😉  After he was diagnosed with cancer, he did try some of my breathing exercises.)  After moving to our house in Johnson City, it was just too hard to give up my weekends anymore and I wasn’t planning on ever teaching.  Never say never…  So, “officially” I don’t know how to teach because those were the courses I didn’t take.  Fortunately, I tend to be a decent teacher if it’s a subject I care about, and I think yoga is amazing.  It is more than simply an exercise and it is subtle.  Yoga is not a religion, but rather something that allows the deepening of any faith.  I don’t know of anything else that can universally do that.

Like I do with most of my big projects, I’ve jumped in with both feet hoping I land upright.  I will start small, just two classes a week.  I decided on Monday and Wednesday at 8:30 am because it is good to start the day with yoga, and Sarah will be at preschool.  Maybe later I’ll add a short lunch-time don’t-have-to-change-your-clothes class.  I’ll see what kind of feedback I get for when people would like to do yoga.  I’m going to start with basic Hatha Yoga (stretch, strengthen, balance & relaxation), see what my students’ needs are and will make adjustments to suit their needs.  (I would love to work with kids, cheer squads, dance teams and athletes eventually.  As classes or camps maybe?)  To start with, classes will be $10 per class and $45 for 5 classes.

So, my Johnson City friends, start looking for my signs in a few weeks.  Please help me by forwarding this e-mail/link to anyone you think might be interested.  Classes will probably begin in mid-June.  Surely, I’ll have the yoga blog finished (I’ll give you the link later) and a few lesson plans done by then…

  1. Jayne Field
    May 9, 2012 at 11:54 am

    Beckie,
    I am smiling from ear to ear. This is an absolutely wonderful idea! And I can tell already you are going to be a super teacher…the things you are thinking about, the reactions of your students, the needs of your students. As a perpetual gym “goer” this all sounds great.
    Wish I could be a part of your classes. That stretching would feel great about now!
    Keep us all informed as to how it is going.
    Jayne

  2. Betty McNallen
    May 10, 2012 at 11:25 am

    this is an answer to my heartfelt wish – to have yoga here in JC. Sign me up. What do I need for the class?

    • May 15, 2012 at 9:19 am

      I’m thrilled you want to do yoga with me. Thank you for asking a rather important question.

      Mat: You will need a sticky yoga mat. The thicker ones are easier on your rump, but aren’t very good for balancing because of the give. So, I advise a thinner mat. I will have one extra mat that I will clean after each use.

      Blanket: You may want to bring a very light, thin blanket for the relaxation exercise.

      Clothes: You’ll want to wear something comfortable & flexible. Just be sure your top is tight enough so that if I have you doing cat/cow or downward dog – there isn’t a show. 😉 Preferably no jewelry, metals definitely distort energy flow. I do understand the emotional need to wear certain pieces of jewelry. It would be more distracting not wear certain items, so you are welcome to wear those.

      Scent: While I encourage using anti-perspirant deodorants, please wear a scentless one. (They are actually hard to find, so I’ll let you know Arrid and Dove both make a fragrance free anti-perspirant deodorant.) Please no perfumes or colognes either. Some people are sensitive to smells. And we all know how certain smells trigger memories which can be distracting too.

      Mind: Bring an open one.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

