Home > Beckie, Jim > Fleas forced us to flee our house

Fleas forced us to flee our house

I really don’t like fleas.

It turns out that Sarah has a severe allergic reaction to flea bites.   One bite and it blows up into the size of a mosquito bite, and it really itches.  Then, this is what happens: I try to hold Sarah still to apply the “anti-itch stuff” (Children’s Benadryl gel), meanwhile, Sarah is squealing and saying, “Blow, Mommy, blow!”   Argh!  It was driving me crazy.  I took her to the doctor.  They didn’t figure it out.  I even thought it was a milk allergy for a while.  You see, I have no reaction at all to a flea bite, so I didn’t realize the fleas were the problem until it was too late.  Apparently, fleas are incredibly bad this year.

I tried the non-toxic route, but six weeks for it to work is just too long.  Plus, I really wanted to get rid of the little boogers that were biting my daughter.  So, last Monday, I sprayed the house.  It worked – for 2 days.  Fortunately, Jim’s family is still renting the “Barn” (a bed and breakfast).  They have let us stay there since last Monday night.  Sarah loves it here.  But, there is no internet connection, and I cross my fingers when I make a phone call.  That, and the packing and moving, was why I couldn’t post last week.  The real exterminators are coming out on the 26th.  After that, we can go back home.

Father’s Day was tough this year.  For me, it was much more intense than Christmas.  In my mind, Jim is a dad, so therefore, he should be here.  He only had two Father’s Days with Sarah.  Last year, we took Sarah to eat Chinese food for the first time on Father’s Day.  She really liked, and made a total mess of the chicken fried rice.  We had so much fun.

Teaching yoga yesterday was really fun.  I was so nervous before class though.  I was still trying to figure out the music that morning.  The room was hot and humid, but the fans in the gym (that I was about to borrow) were too loud.  So, I ran home to get two quiet, skinny fans that I had.  Fortunately, I only live about four blocks away.  I think I may get extra mats to have on hand for people to buy.  That seemed to be the only thing a couple people needed.  The cold Sarah shared with me wasn’t very helpful while I was showing or doing inverted poses.  I had to keep reaching for the Kleenex box.  Then, the gym crickets joined us in the guided meditation at the end of class.  Fortunately, everyone thought they were in the music I was playing.  🙂  All the women in the class were very positive and seemed to understand how much yoga could help them.  I think I am going to thoroughly enjoy teaching yoga.  Johnson City Does Yoga

  1. Betty McNallen
    June 19, 2012 at 11:25 am

    Loved the first yoga session and can’t wait to return.

    • June 19, 2012 at 11:40 am

      I was thrilled to see you when you walked in. Honestly, I relaxed just a little. Thank you so much for letting me know you enjoyed the first class. It means alot to me. You are about as good as a student gets: slightly stubborn and willing to try anything. 😉

  2. Betty McNallen
    June 20, 2012 at 11:39 am

    I meant to tell you that I would miss Wed. AM because we had to take my daughter and the grandkiids to the airport in SA. Looking forward to next Monday.

  3. Jayne Field
    June 20, 2012 at 9:13 pm

    EEKS…fleas. So glad you and Sarah are at the barn til the eradication gets the job done.
    But I can imagine how you feel with no internet. Ah..nature.
    Thank you for sharing the family photo of last Father’s Day. My mind still reels when I see these pictures. I can not magine your feelings.
    And yoga..so glad it is going well. I know you are a fantastic teacher. Wish I could take a class with you.
    Love to you and Sarah!
    Jayne

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

