Home > Jim > Fins to the Left

Fins to the Left

Sharks, Parrotheads and parakeets were marching the streets of Lubbockfor the 4th of July.  Sarah’s great-aunt Anne and great-uncle David invited her to be on the Pirates of the Plains float as a guest “parakeet.”  (In Jimmy Buffet terms, a parakeet is a very young Parrothead.)  Of course, she managed to ride on the shoulders of her great second-cousin John David for most of the parade.  As I write this, she is taking a nap.  It was an early morning, plus it’s a bit hot and windy.  We are relaxing now for round 2; swimming at Mama B’s, then bounce-house/slides and fireworks tonight.

Sarah had fun and didn’t want to get out of the swimming pool.  She’s an absolute fish.  When she went to change into her clothes, she saw an old family picture.  Sarah squealed, “My Daddy here too?!”  I told her that, yes, your Daddy is loved here too. 

I managed to feed her some cheese before she got on the little train at the country club.  After riding that two times in a row, with Helen and Jim’s young neighbor that is Sarah’s age, she found a giant blow-up slide.  She loves slides and she loves bounce-houses, so it was a perfect storm.  Sarah did great the first time, although, she looked shocked on the way down.  The next time I had to yell at the boys telling them that, “we only go down the slide.”  Sorry, but my inner camp counselor kicked in.  Fortunately, Sarah was out of the bounce-house just as the wind blew in (they immediately deflated the houses), along with a bit of dirt and an occasional sprinkle.  It was just bad enough, and we were tired enough, that we left just before the fireworks.  However, Lubbock was lighting up with fireworks the whole drive back to the house.  Sarah was finally saying, “Pink is mine.  I lub (love) it all!”

Last year, the three of us enjoyed the Johnson City Fourth of July parade.  Jim had a bad headache that day, and we knew the heat would make it worse, but he wanted to take Sarah.

The 8th is the anniversary of Jim’s surgery.  The 12th should have been our 15th anniversary.  I’m just putting one foot in front of the other…

Categories: Jim
  1. Catherine Mitchell-Baker
    July 6, 2012 at 4:37 pm

    HI Beckie ! Was just gonna let you know I do have a couple of pics of Sarah on John David’s shoulders ! email me …..you_calltheshots@yahoo.com and I will be happy to send them to you ! Love you two & Say prayers for ya’ll often! OH and in case Helen didn’t tell you ! I have a present for Sarah I want to give her before ya’ll head home !

  2. Jayne Field
    July 6, 2012 at 5:04 pm

    I was beginning to worry as we had not heard from you. And I have missed Helen and Jim.
    What fun you had in Lubbock! And thanks for defining all the terms..haha. Had no clue.
    I know it fills your emotional tank to be with family who love and miss Jim as you do.
    I knew the surgery anniversary was near. And your anniversary..will be thinking of you on that day.
    And I looked and looked at the July 4th pic. from last year.
    love you all.
    Jayne

  3. Ruth Dyar
    July 6, 2012 at 11:21 pm

    I’m thinking of you and will be on the 12th as well. Hang in there. I love the pictures of Sarah!

  4. Betty McNallen
    July 7, 2012 at 10:50 am

    I am crying as I read the last part of your post. I don’t do tears much, but I do when I read your date lines….sending you love.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

