Home > Jim > I tried, I really did

I tried, I really did

Unfortunately, everything I wrote last week just sounded so bitter.  I have five posts started, and each one sounds awful.  The subjects are good, but it quickly dissolves into yuck.  I don’t want to be this way.  I guess Jim’s and my anniversary, and the anniversary of his surgery, was just too much.

We did have a nice weekend.  Sarah and I went up to McKinney for Mason’s first birthday party.  It was a great dinosaur-themed party.  She got a few things too.  Her favorites are a dinosaur and a palentologist Barbie.  However, I think Sarah really enjoyed Mason’s new toys.  The idea of sharing was often brought up.

Since we were staying right next to the Allen Outlet Mall, we got to shop for a couple hours over the three days we were there.  I think this was the first time Sarah and I have shopped for and tried on clothes together.  She is an awesome shopper.  She was very patient with me.  We only had to have one discussion on leaving the curtain alone while in a dressing room.  Overall, Sarah just kept me laughing.  Imitating me sliding clothes down a rack, telling me what shirt I should try on, picking up all the tags and hanger pieces off the floor – and that was just in my stores.  When Sarah tries on clothes, well, this girl is a poser.  I really should put a gigantic mirror in her room.  And heaven forbid the store play good dance music.  I’m old enough not to care, have no one around to embarrass, so I’m dancing with Sarah too.  We had the employees at Children’s Place laughing at us.  I’ll admit Sarah picked out a very cute dress for the party.  I guess it was the easiest dress to dance in…

Categories: Jim
  1. July 17, 2012 at 11:48 am

    Isn’t it wonderful how little ones dance so easily? To paraphrase Robert Fulghum, how do we lose that ability as we get older? So glad she makes you laugh!

    • July 23, 2012 at 1:50 pm

      Oh, just wait for the blog I’m about to write… She had me rolling! A star is born. 😉

  2. Lonnie
    July 17, 2012 at 12:42 pm

    I lost my brother in October and it is difficult to express a positive in my writing, also. It can easily happen. I miss him everyday. It is painful at times and it is difficult to express. Hang in there and keep working at it. It is ok to struggle with it.

    • July 23, 2012 at 2:18 pm

      Thank you, Lonnie. I’m sorry. I’m not sure I knew your brother passed away. (I’m not good at following Facebook, and that time period is blurry.) I appreciate your support in how I feel. It sucks that you understand how hard it is to write sometimes. Hugs.

  3. Jayne Field
    July 18, 2012 at 8:03 am

    Early July was a lot to deal with for you. So many important milestones in your journey moving forward. Sometimes we just get stuck. Your determination to move forward thru and not stay in a spot is so important.
    And I loved the “shopping trip” story. Joy at its best. I love the images in my mind of you and Sarah. And with Miss Sarah, I think there will be a whole lot of that in your future! Enjoy.
    Love to all, Jayne

    • July 23, 2012 at 2:07 pm

      Yes, that was even tougher than I really wanted to write about. Sometimes it feels as if I’m walking through a blizzard just trying to get somewhere comfortable. I’ve got to keep moving because I have Sarah bundled up with me.
      I can’t wait to take Sarah shopping again! Forget my stuff – her trying on clothes is infinitely more fun.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

